20th Annual Cafritz Award Winners Announced

Recognizing the Extraordinary Leaders in D.C. Government

June 16, 2022

Cafritz awards

The Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation, in partnership with The George Washington University’s Center for Excellence in Public Leadership (CEPL) and the District of Columbia Government, is proud to recognize the extraordinary winners of the 20th Annual Cafritz Awards Program.


The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation Awards, 20 Years, Honoring the Best in Public Service

Established in 2000, the annual awards program is managed by GW’s CEPL and run in partnership with the D.C. Government. The awards honor outstanding D.C. Government leaders and innovative teams, whose contributions have been exceptional, and whose commitment and professionalism demonstrate the best in public service. Individual winners receive a $7,500 cash prize and the winning team receives a $15,000 cash prize.

This year the Foundation also granted a special "Leadership in Crisis" Cafritz Team Award, with an accompanying $10,000 cash prize to a team that went above and beyond the call of duty to serve the District’s residents during the pandemic crisis.

“When the Cafritz Awards were established in 2000, the Foundation wanted to shine a light on the contributions of extraordinary government employees,” said Calvin Cafritz, President and CEO of the Cafritz Foundation.

“We hoped to let the public know about these outstanding individuals and also to send a message to other excellent government employees that their dedication and considerable accomplishments are valued.”

Individual and team winners will be recognized at the joint 19th and 20th Annual Cafritz Awards Gala, taking place at GW on Thursday, June 30th from noon - 1:30 PM (EST). The Gala’s agenda includes distinguished speakers:

  • Mr. James Robinson (MASTER OF CEREMONIES), Executive Director, Center for Excellence in Public Leadership, The George Washington University
  • Mr. Calvin Cafritz, President and CEO, The Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation
  • Dr. Mark S. Wrighton, President, The George Washington University
  • Ms. Muriel Bowser, Mayor, District of Columbia Government

More information about the winners being recognized at the Gala.

RSVP to attend the June 30 Gala (virtually)